Information needed on getting a salt water guiding license

Thread: Information needed on getting a salt water guiding license

Reports Access
    Thanks

Default Information needed on getting a salt water guiding license

Hi guys,

I'm finding it hard to find information on getting licensed to guide salt water fishing and I'm hoping someone here can help me with doing this.

I've recently bought a 25' Harbercraft Kingfisher. I've been fishing both salt and fresh water around BC for 30 years. It's time for me to not just fish for recreation but to also try to make a bit of extra income at it while out on the water. I also own a North River Jet boat that I use in the fresh water but have also been using in the salt up until now.

When I looked into getting a fresh water license I was forwarded to the government agent office where they told me to study for the fresh water guide license test but they couldn't help me with information on getting a guide license for salt water.

I've been told by some people that I will have to get passenger/customer insurance for the boat but that's about the extent of what people have offered for info so far.

I have my boat safety license but am planning on taking some more in depth boater safety courses as well as chart/radar courses too if available.

The Harbercraft has both gps/charts/radar but I am new at the radar part of it.

Can any of you guides please offer a step by step procedure into getting fully licensed and insured to guide salt water?

I would like to do things the absolute right way from the start so your help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Contributing Member fishinmagician's Avatar
    Thanks

Officially, there is no saltwater guiding license. There are however, requirements for you to meet as the operator of the vessel.

You require:
    C number
    SVOP
    Med A3
    PCOC
    Marine First Aid
    charter insurance.
    transport Canada approved commercial safety gear
    ROC-M w DSC