BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
I recently came across this video, and got interested in fly fishing the mouth of the Adams with an egg pattern for rainbows.
I am wondering though, when using egg patterns, if you should use an indicator on a 9ft leader and floating line or use it without an indicator.
It would also be interesting to know if this method would work on creeks were kokanee spawn (i.e. mouth of Mission creek in Kelowna).
Hopefully someone can help me out as I have never done this kind of fishing before.
thanks, Joe

·
Registered
29 Posts
Hi Joe,

I spend most of my time at the Adams and have great results with trout beads. I use a floating line with a short sinking tip. On that i use a 10lbs tapered leader ending with a small swivel. The swivel does 2 things - The swivel acts as a small weight so your egg will bottom bounce (where you catch rainbows). And secondly, when you foul hook a sockeye or spring, you can break off your line from the swivel down with a good hard pull. Below the swivel you want to have about 2' of mono-filament with a bead just above your bare fly hook. I started out using an indicator, but don't bother any longer with that. The rainbows hit so hard, you will know it!

There are so many salmon in the river now, bring lots of monofilament, beads and hooks. You will lose quite a few.

Don't have to be just at the mouth either. There are spots along the river where you can catch rainbows as well. Good luck and have fun! Let me know if you get a chance to try it.

Pencil

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks allot for that. Unfortunately I'm not able to make it out this fall, but hopefully with be able to go in the spring when the fry salmon come down the river.
Is it basically the same technique when you fish in the spring?
thanks again

·
Retired Administrator
4,447 Posts