BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all
I am new to the region and started to fish my first time with bait casters/level wind reels. Is there a trick not to get so many bird nests?:( I think I spend half of the time fixing them. Is there any shop which will do some lessons?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,206 Posts
When you are casting MAKE SURE your thumb is always just ever so slightly contacting the spool at all times! Also if you can get a friend to adjust that little nut on the side of your reel too - that can help (someone who knows how to adjust the reel in other words)

·
Registered
1,626 Posts
Birdsnests happen when the line stops but the drum is allowed to spin.
You must control your drum.

Most will have an adjustment knob which will allow you to adjust the drum's free spooling.
Tighten it up, make a few casts and loosen it up a little as you get better.
The amount of weight on the line will make a difference too.
Eg; Float & splitshot will cast different than 1/2 oz spoon.

Keep your thumb lightly on the drum and be ready to stop the drum when the line hits its target.
Start out with short casts and go from there.
I tend to tighten mine at the end of the day so I start the next trip with a tight drum ( I can loosen) instead of a birdsnest ('cuz I was over zealous first cast).

·
Retired staff
6,684 Posts
Hi Petriheil,

I think every angler, (no matter what they will tell you), has suffered through the same frustration you are going through with your levelwind. Don't worry, in time you will find them easy to work with and will be bombing casts out there with ease...but here are a couple tips that might help speed up this learning process.