BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This "canyon" section is between Ashcroft and Spences Bridge. I want to know who has drifted thru this section at low water conditions(like they are at present) or jet-boated the area?

I have plenty of whitewater experience in canoes/rafts/ and now pontoons and I want to know if this section can be done with appropriate safety gear, a pickup boat, and how long would it take between the two centers with a few fishin' stops along the way?......Ortho 8)

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Rin, where are you?.......Hey Hook, you know my age. I have whitewatered class 3 & 4 water in rafts, kyacks and canoes......The classification system is based on the average flow of the water and the danger it presents....In other words, you can have big water, and flip your boat/raft/pontoon/ but you have water below that offers a safe pick up by a support boat etc.....Conversely, the same big water may be in a walled canyon with no means of escape or pickup and it will be classified higher because of the danger it presents...
There may very well be some big or heavy water in the area, but can it be skirted,or is it a true hells gate, where there is no bailing out?
This is a very important feature when whitewatering...I need some concrete info on this topic from those in the know........Ortho 8)

·
Registered
151 Posts
My ex did it ONCE, and he was lucky he didn't flip... He was in a whitewater raft.

6 foot standing waves with no way around them was what I heard...

Without google earth to research, would you take a chance?

I wouldn't, they're just fish.

Cheers,
Nicole

·
Registered
151 Posts
LOL!

;D
Nicole

·
Registered
708 Posts