BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I Just got back from both Canadian Tire and 3Vets, surprised and empty handed. I still need a license, and I’m leaving for a fishing trip in about 2 hours. Don’t come down on me with the “it’s your fault for not being prepared” because I’ve been buying my licenses in exactly the same manner for the last 15 years and had absolutely no logical reason to assume that system would change so drastically.
It would be like going to fill up the truck, only to find that I can’t without first downloading and printing out a gas-card from chevron.com before driving to the gas station.

I knew that the government was going to be ADDING the ability to easily purchase your fishing license online, but certainly didn't expect the retail shops to stop selling them.
“Add” the e-license, sure. Great idea, I’m sure a lot of people will find that convenient. Essentially REPLACE the system with e-license only??? Boneheads!

According to the staff at 3-Vets, the only way they could continue selling the licenses would have been to purchase a 'special computer' which accesses the system and prints out the license. "We'd have to pay for the computer, and we don't make any money off the sale of the licenses" they said. So they simply opted out of being involved.