BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am still fairly new at this and i am wondering if there is a calender or list of the fishing opportunities throughout the year. For instance, the list would show approximately what weeks/months that each run of fish would be available for fishing. I know that steelhead are out now.
What i don't know is what's next and what follows that. I do a bunch of reading online to learn the techniques for each type of fish but i would like to know what is ahead.
Do the sockeye run this year? Are the Pinks running this year? (I enjoyed catching them last year)

Thanks in advance.

· Banned
2,854 Posts
well i can break it down a bit for you.

Pinks -- every ODD numbered year 2007, 2009, 2011 and so on...

Sockeye -- July/August mainly depending on run size

Chinook -- May/Nov different runs heading to different systems

Coho -- if i remember right i think they start August (might be earlier) till November and even sometimes December and later

Chum -- definitely a fall fish ;D late Sept till November and into December

Steelhead -- if i remember right I'm pretty sure they are trickling all year round because some systems get summers and winters.

these times are for the FRASER and most of the lower mainland tribs of it will be close to these also. Places like the Squamish I believe is about a month ahead of these. (pretty sure no sockeye up there though)

Pretty sure you will get lots of responses for this with lots of guys giving specifics for the popular systems ;D

· Registered
578 Posts
My first advise to you fishguy is to exept that man's concept of time and season do not appply to fish and wild life. Over my years of study (40) I have seen anglers supply charts predicting runs & hatches; none have been more than 60% accurate. Temperature both air and water are the determining factor and who can predict those year to year. The following is a general rule of thumb: