BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

· Registered
1,539 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

So I'm new to the whole salmon/river scene and I keep seeing/hearing about guys and their "CENTERPINS" or "PINS." haha
I know what they look like and have watched the video youtube...

Just want to know what the fuss is all about and why everyone has a bone-diddly for them?!

thanks

b

· Registered
131 Posts
The thing is that it's a more "pure" form of fishing, like flyfishing. Baitcasting and spincasting reels have gear ratios that allow you to bring in more line for every turn of the handle, while pins and flyreels only bring in one turn of line for each turn of the handle.

For me, the lure is more in the zen of it, the purity, and the easy feel of it. Baitcasting reels are efficient, pins are special.

:D
Tex

· Banned
121 Posts
Fashion statement.

Go out, buy a $600 Sage 3113 and a $500 bearing(lame)kingfisher, with your $750 G4 sim waders and still cannot catch fish.

Centrepin reels have their place, but they're not the best reel to be using in some circumstances. Choose your weapons wisely, don't take a pea shooter when you need a .45 auto!

· Registered
29 Posts
I prefer drifting with a single action a bit more than a level wind but for me I prefer the fight among all other reasons. Level winds are better when there are lots of people around or no room behind you to cast of course(havent mastered the wallis yet :p). Casting far isn't really a problem for the most part.

· Banned
2,854 Posts
yup just a personal preference and I find most "pin" fisherman enjoy their fishing days just that little bit more :cheers: I know i do. I havent fished a level wind in over 2 yrs now but i i sold my old setup and had to fish a LW for a day and i hated every minute of it :pissed: especially the bringing in fish part...it just wasnt personal enough like the 1to1 ratio a pin gives you with the fish ;D