BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone I am new to this forum, I have been fishing for salmon for over 8-9 years now. I have fished the chilliwack starting in about late september and every weekend on untill about october 20th or so. I was mostly around the railroad bridge area, All that time I saw no Spring, I hooked only 2 cohos and lots of chum. I was just wondering did I miss the main runs of spring / cohos ?
I went to the chehalis river. under the bridge and upwards about 500 meters was all full of chum, so I decided to hike up stream. I hiked for about 20 minutes and walked down the first path that led down to the river. As i got down there were about 7-8 fishermen in the area with 2 having 1 coho each and another guy with a fairly fresh chinook an coho.
are there any more places to fish in the canyon if I keep hiking further upstream, and is there a difference in the quality of fishing comparing if you go higher upstream?

Thank you.

·
Registered
2,379 Posts
Hello Russianboy,

Welcome to the forum. The Chehalis Canyon is very nice as you now know. As several members have eluded to the area is surrounded by mystery and as you observed the scenery is fantastic..

The fishing can be quite good and there are several access point into the canyon, all of them require some strenuous walking and plenty of caution. Always take your time on those trails and maybe even take a length of rope just for caution. I cannot stress the caution enough, many anglers have been injured or killed up there over the years,