BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,669 Posts
Just need a friendly helicopter pilot to drop people off. That's the avenue I would pursue. Drop a hundred ice anglers by chopper. What are they gonna do?

B

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I wonder what the anglers were using for lures. The lodge says its fly only, but the lake is not in the regs so there's another grey area. Tough to ice fish without bait or scent and there were reports that fish were being caught.

·
Registered
101 Posts
I'm no lawyer and I am not picking sides, but I am curious about this. If I understand it correctly, this is about access to the lake via private land and also about ownership of the fish that Corbett Lake lodge owners say they stocked and therefore own. Can we compare the situation like this? If I lease Crown land to run cattle on and some guy decides that because it is Crown land he can shoot my cattle, is that much different than this case? Maybe let's say I decide to farm venison on leased Crown land, is that different? I can't figure this situation out. Who can enlighten me?

·
Registered
489 Posts
Actually this is worse. If you lease crown land then people are allowed to walk on it.
This is more like someone walking into your backyard and pulling vegetables from your garden.
It doesn't matter how you acquired your land. Trespassing is trespassing.

·
Registered
3,669 Posts
http://wcel.org/resources/environmental-law-alert/when-us-billionaire-claims-bc-fish-and-lakes