BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning on going out to Chilliwack around 6am tomorrow morning from richmond.
I plan on going fishing the chilliwack/vedder river.....I am a newbie to salmon fishing this year...had a blast during the socks :D ...I need some adivce as to how many lb line i need to use and leaders....as well as what types of fish in there to catch right now?? any helpful tips would be great ..also the types of lures?? bait?? whoool?? anything helps hah.

cheers

·
Registered
89 Posts
I do see long leaders as well, but not excessively long, usually 2ft or less. What I do see is alot of, is incorrect float settings (sideways floats everywhere), I think what a lot of the guys are doing is just trying to get their presentation bouncing along the bottom, or just dont know what they are doing. I believe you can have more success by getting your presentation off the bottom a bit for sure. About a week ago I was fishing a run just down from the train bridge (powerlines?) and it was sideways float action by every one there, and people snagging bottom alot, spoke to one fellow after he fought a snag for 10 minutes or so, and showed him a more appropriate setup (leader length, and float setting) and lo and behold, he wasnt ignorant, just unknowledgable on a proper set up.(turned out he was over from Scotland, and wanted to go fishing) Switched up his set up, and got him self a nice big stinky spring. I guess my point is that there ARE alot of newbies on this river, and sometimes they are very open to knowledge. (not all, but some) Take the time to help at least one fisherman on the river, and you may be rewarded. Its like elections, you can't bitch about the govt if you dont vote, if you wont take the time to help others, I dont think you have the right to be upset about bad/wrong techniques.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Shorter Leader Lines