BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
5,163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those of you that did not now this, you can now purchase and pay online for a Freshwater Fishing Licence for recreational purposes. Here is the direct link to do so, http://j100.gov.bc.ca/pub/ras/signin.asp

· Premium Member
3,684 Posts
They have been since Sept. of last year as far as I know.......... O0

Wait a minute.... >:D What the....?? :happy:

Someones been working overtime again..

:beerchug: Marko

· Registered
1,660 Posts
(As posted on FFBC) So I'm wondering why a government website that is collecting personal information, including our birthdate, for the purpose of issuing a license has not been deemed important enough to be encrypted? Or at least it looks that way to me, but I'm not a computer expert...I just don't see the usual padlock symbol indicating to me that the connection is secure. Maybe someone else more knowledgeable can explain it to me?

I sent them an email anyway:
Hi:

I am interested in registering an account so I can take advantage of this new fishing e-license service online, but I am very troubled that a government agency who is collecting information online for the purpose of issuing a license hasn't thought about our security enough to make the process a secure and encrypted one.

Why would this be allowed to happen, and how can I be assured that as I am registering, logging on, and entering my information, that the connection that I am using is secure and the information that I enter, including my birthdate, will not be intercepted and fraudulently used by others?

Thank you.
We'll see what they say...

· Registered
338 Posts