BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
5,453 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone out there using Fluoro? I have been using it for quite a few years now; for personal use and guiding. I will never go back to mono, especially for steelhead and salmon; its is stronger, its sinks and invisible in the water.

·
Registered
1,667 Posts
I use a lot of flurocarbon as well. Definitely like the abrasion resistance, and how quickly it sinks. I agree that it's definitely much less visible that mono...but I used 4x fluro in a spring creek in Washington a couple of years ago, and the fish could definitely see it.

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
OK all this talk and new posts on flyfishing, but if fleurocarbon sinks, it's a no go for dry fly fishery, no?.....I use it for almost everything else..Apparently berkley vanish is excellent....comments?......Ortho 8)

·
Registered
1,667 Posts
Depends on what dry fly you're fishing, Ortho...fluro tippet isn't going to sink a large caddis imitation, or even a larger Adams. If you're fishing emergers or small dries on the otherhand...then fine mono tippet would probably be better.

·
Registered
1,667 Posts
Hey Ortho:

WHen I use a floating boatman pattern, I just use whatever is tied on the butt section already...more than likely it's usually fluro anyway. I use a sinking line with a floating pattern to imitate the dive of the bug, so the tippet doesn't play much of a role. Can't go wrong with stronger, thinner, and less visible though... :beerchug:

·
Registered
45 Posts
stone said:
Depends on what dry fly you're fishing, Ortho...fluro tippet isn't going to sink a large caddis imitation, or even a larger Adams. If you're fishing emergers or small dries on the otherhand...then fine mono tippet would probably be better.