BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to the area as i've said before but i am wondering where the fishing is better at the moment the fraser or the vedder?? Pegleg is almost out my backdoor but the river is still high so i have been thinking of trying the vedder for a while. I could use all the tips i can get as im new to fishing for salmon. I went and got a good bar rod a couple weeks ago and want to get my line in the water.

·
Banned
2,859 Posts
if you only have a bar rod you may want to stick to the Fraser HOWEVER if you go to the Vedder I would definately try the lower end and yes i mean sticking out the ole' spin'n'glows and waiting

i was out one day stealheading and a guy was doing this in low water conditions and he hit 3 in about half hour :) you could do quite well

if you have a drift rod then i would try anywhere in the Vedder as the sustem is smaller and with the water clearing the fishing is getting better everyday

tight lines

HOOK

·
Retired staff
6,684 Posts
yes, what hook said...

I'll add a bit though. If you're going to try and "plunk" the vedder, (bar fish), set yourself up in one of the "lanes" the fish travel in the canal. There are deeper slots next to shore along most of it, and it switches sides a couple times, but if you do some legwork you should be able to find the mainflow and a spot or two to plunk your gear...

·
Registered
135 Posts
I've often wondered how a bar setup would work on the Vedder. I haven't seen the river in a few months but from what I understand it's sitting around 2ft vis most days. Which is definitly more than adequate to bar fish the fraser so why not the vedder. I'm not just talking about the canal, but what would stop someone from tossing that setup out into a slower moving fish holding pool such as the Allison Pools. Does any one have any first hand experience with this?

·
Registered
92 Posts