BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On Sunday I went out and fished using downriggers. I have never used them before, up to now favoring mooching/buzz bombs/sildas. So setting up the gear I realized how much I don't know, so hopefully you all will help me out a bit:

1. Flasher ....fatter end toward the rod or the hook?
2. How much line behind the boat before I clip it to the downrigger?
3. Length of leader between the flasher and the tackle?

Any other considerations and pointers would be appreciated!

Thanks
James

·
Registered
42 Posts
I usually place the release clip about 1 foot above the cannon ball. If they are electric downriggers you normally have a small plastic clip on the line to stop the retract, I set these so that on a calm day the cannon ball drags on the surface. Length of leader between flasher and tackle is dependant on the type of flasher and tackle. Plastic flasher I use 30 inch leader on a hootchie and 48 inches on a coyote spoon, with an Abe-n-Al I use 36 to 42 on a hootchie and 60 inch on a coyote.
You will find that you need to try different combinations on length of leaders due to where you fish and how your boat handles.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Phoneguy Canuck said:
On Sunday I went out and fished using downriggers. I have never used them before, up to now favoring mooching/buzz bombs/sildas. So setting up the gear I realized how much I don't know, so hopefully you all will help me out a bit:

1. Flasher ....fatter end toward the rod or the hook?
2. How much line behind the boat before I clip it to the downrigger? (ie how much mono dragging in the water before I hook to the downrigger?
3. Length of leader between the flasher and the tackle?

Any other considerations and pointers would be appreciated!

Thanks
James