BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to river fishing in BC, started out quite late in the season last year and caught quite a few Chum salmon and some pink's also. I had my reel spooled with a very strong 80 lb test braided line, using 30 lb mono leader and it seemed to work well for me. The thing that concerns me a bit about this set up is that the braided line is bright yellow and I am wondering if this might make some fish shy or not?
I never caught a spring or a coho and have just been thinking it is due to lack of skill on my side but could the line I am using be contributing to make it harder?

·
Banned
2,859 Posts
im not sure if it makes a difference as i have seen many people using the exact same line and catching fish. however what you can try (lots of guys do this) is to add a peice of mono(a few feet long) at the end of the braided line and then add your float and stuff onto this. that way you dont have the bright yellow line in the water. (down where the fish can see it)

just a pre-emtive thing as i know its going to happen. just ignore any flack people give you for using braided in smaller rivers.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks all for feedback, it is greatly appreciated!
I am definitely a learner in this so I am probably asking some less than intelligent questions! :-\
Hook, I use mono for leader, so I guess I am on the right track. I am not sure exactly why someone would make an issue of braided line on smaller rivers - what might be the reasoning for this?
Shane, as I said, I am new to this so I have not fished many places, a few times on the Vedder for pink's but mostly on the Stave for Chum - it was late in the season last year before I got going. This year I have not even started yet, all our fishing has been from the boat so far and I think it will be like that for a while still.