BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've fished Ukee a fair amount, but I'm still learning. I only have a 19 foot boat and I'm reluctant to fish Big Bank which is 25 miles or more from Ukee, a long run back if the north wind comes up. Mostly I've fished inside South Bank, the Spade area, also called the Turtleshead, from what I'm told. Also inside Barclay itself, Great Bear, Alley Rock etc.

I've heard talk of some other off shore areas but I dont really know where they are.

Could anyone give me the compass heading and distance (in miles) for the following offshore spots?

Southwest Corner

Lighthouse Bank

Long Beach Bank

Seven Mile

Shipwreck

Any others you guys would be willing to share? We are also looking for Halibut spots that in our range 7-10 miles.

Thank you in advance.

Gary

·
Registered
4 Posts
When you get to Ucluelet, go into Pioneer Boatworks and buy some tackle. They have a chart there with all the local names on it. Just copy everything onto your chart and you will be good to go.

Cliff

·
Registered
316 Posts
When you get to Ucluelet, go into Pioneer Boatworks and buy some tackle. They have a chart there with all the local names on it. Just copy everything onto your chart and you will be good to go.

Cliff
Those bast*rds:D!! I had to make a local guide a kicker bracket for free to get all the local names written down by him on my paper charts::).

·
Registered
578 Posts
Those bast*rds:D!! I had to make a local guide a kicker bracket for free to get all the local names written down by him on my paper charts::).
It must B top secret coordinates, either that ya didn't know him good enough 4 me beer works wonderz.............lol

·
Registered
35 Posts
I'll be interested in what you find?

I purchased a book on Halibut fishing a few years back that has a whole bunch of placenames with GPS coordinates. however, I don't see any of these names in there.