BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

· Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, hope you don't mind be bugging you guys about some tips :) After many many encouraging fly fishing posts from you guys I've decided to move up from using CP to Fly fishing for Winter Steel this Winter. For 2 years now I've MOSTLY been using bugs on my CP short float set-up and have been happy with my experiences. After reading from you guy's successful trips with fly fishing this coho season, I got encouraged to give it a go and learn to fly fish for steelies this Winter.
Now a little about my experiences with fly fishing. I'M A NOOB! I've only fly fished a handfull of lakes around 100 mile house and armed with the ol' Walmart combo and a using few flies from local corner stores up in the area. I did had successful days up there(armed with local barstool preachings)--in wich, lead me to slowly using flies on a short-float set-up.
So after GRINDING a lot of "fiancee' faction" for the last few weeks I've managed to get the go ahead on spending some money to upgrade my current fishing gear :thumbup: Now, I was hoping to get some very usefull advise and tips on wich path I should be going if I pursue being a full time fly fisher.
Thanks for your time :cheers:

· Registered
1,660 Posts
Awesome! :)

I don't know if one necessarily "moves up" to fly-fishing, but it certainly is very challenging. This is because is you probably well know already from fishing for steelhead with a CP, it is very important to present your offering to them where they are sitting. This is especially true for our winter fish, who often won't move very far to take an offering.

Also, with a CP setup, you have a lot of control on the depth of your bait and the drift it floats. It can be very precise with your float telling you exactly what's happening with your bait. I guess this is why the gear guys are so successful.