BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
More often than not I fish alone. I'd love to hear stratagies for netting a fish while you're alone and trolling. I generally use 2 downriggers and would prefer to keep trolling as I land the fish.

·
Registered
266 Posts
so you want to keep fishing out in the chuck, with wind, waves, currents and other boats around, fight a nice fish and land it on your own. That's a pretty tall order to have success with. Keeping the boat straight is the hardest part of that in mine anyway, two waves and your turning somewhere. I've done it before but the conditions were pretty good. I can gaff a chicken halibut pretty well like that but a big one or a salmon you just do your best with it. I can't think of a strategy except the usual one to have everything ready to go as usual and hope the fish cooperates.

·
Registered
3,936 Posts
I am no pro at it.....but I have done it and I would assume watching me from the outside looking in; it is likely far from a beautifully fluid motion/process. :eek:

As firelight said.....you have to take a look at what's around you if you want to keep trolling. The question I would have is "why" do you want to keep trolling? If you are on your own.....trying to net one fish and get a double header with 2 riggers down....fish going every which way, your boat going who knows "what way", I think you are kinda asking for the ensuing sheeot-show. :p Also....if you are on your own and DO get a double header....get them both netted and into the boat....your day is kinda over, just like that. Sure you've got a great tale to tell over beers that night but why risk putting yourself through the agony and frustration?

Does your boat have steering controls at the stern?