BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All Like I said I am new to fly fishing.. :thumbup:
I have been dying for something quite and fun to do so a friend got me started into this :happy:
I went off got me a belly boat thanks Craigs list, Got me the whole set up and advice on flys from a recomended store.

Now my question is??????

I live in South Surrey, where is a good place to get started using this gear. I dont mind driving a couple hours to get there. But
What is a good time of the day?
Some nice local lakes Especaily this weekend may 24 wekend :drunk: I dont mind an over nighter, I just dont want to hike 2 hrs in the bush, a nice lake sort of off the beaten trail accessible by car. :confused:

Thanks
Craig

·
Registered
1,667 Posts
I was just at Kawkawa Lake, and there's still lots of Kokanee to be caught. Slowly troll a small beadhead olive woolly bugger with some sparkle to it on a clear intermediate full sink line and you should still be able to tie into a few. The lake is only 3 kms or so out of Hope, so it's not that far. When it gets warm, watch out for the ski boats and jetskis though... :)

G

·
Hopefully some individuals that know more than I do will help you out beyond telling you to buy a book and drive around and learn by yourself like they did but hey they are the pros and out of our league. Try Mike Lake in Golden Ears park, great little spot that is stocked. Whonnock Lake out this way is also good. Both these will allow you to practice casting, changing gear and flies and you should get into a fish or two. Hope this helps. :beerchug:

·
Banned
2,859 Posts
I would also try out Mike lake because the fish there gear onto the bugs alot quicker than inner city lakes. its also very small and easy to get around on a float tube. You could also try Lafarge in Coquitlam, it might be getting stocked yet again before the long weekend

·
Registered
73 Posts