BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The title says it all.Im just wondering what type of location,type of flies and techniques that will help me.I will probably have a 2 day trip to the vedder next tuesday or someday next week.Im a complete noob to steelhead fly fishing.

cheers trout:cheers:

·
Retired staff
6,684 Posts
hey trout, why don't you start by telling us what set up you have, rod wt and line type etc...then we'll know what you have to work with. I'm sure by that point many of the members will start to chime in and help you out.

:cheers:

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok.I have dragonfly 8 weight with a sink tip,and 10 lb leader.I have a couple clouser minnows in pink and a couple others mostly chum and pink flys.

hope that helps.:D

·
Retired staff
6,684 Posts
Ok...one thing you will notice about tips and their sink rate is they typically get thinner in diameter as their sink rate increases...a type 4-6 will do fine and isn't too much of a compromise. A lot of guys will insist you need a heavier sink tip, but that's not necessarily true. A couple more questions that will help the members in lending you a hand here, how long is that sink tip...? not interchangeable is it?

·
Retired staff
6,684 Posts
well...nobody's stepped up to help out yet eh...