BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would appreciate some help from the members here.

I am planning with a friend to haul my boat to the Island for a single day of fishing – it will be a whirlwind trip but with our various family and professional commitments, it is realistically all we can put together so obviously we want to make the most of it.

I have an 18 foot bow rider with two power downriggers. I have about 30 years boating and fishing experience so I am confident taking the boat anywhere and I am confident that we’ll be able to make the right choices about weather related issues and tackle selection.
What I really need help with is suggestions for destination. We are thinking Alberni Inlet or Campbell River (possibly with a side order of French creek).
I would be grateful if you would offer your suggestions.
Thanks
PS I have launched out of Campbell River and fished there extensively, but never out of Port Alberni – so I would appreciate advice on launch ramps there.

·
Registered
3,936 Posts
Is this just one day, there and back excursion or are you doing an overnighter to be at wherever you launch at first light. That's a long haul doing 2 ferries during the day....travel to your fishing area.....launching and then spending the day on the water.

There is plenty of space at the launch ramps in Alberni.....lots of parking but I can imagine it may be a bit of a zoo getting your boat in at first light this time of the year.

If things start to pick up in the Victoria/Sooke area that may be worth looking at as well; and there's also Renfrew.

·
Registered
151 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It will be a one day round trip - first and last ferry. We have to take what we can get and this is it for now.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Side order of French Creek eh?
Boat launch is excellent , fish are deep there 150-225ft not uncommon.
Nice and close to the ferry though.