BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to fly fishing and have only tried fly fishing for salmon in rivers of the lower mainland a few times. Can anyone point me to resources on learning good presentation for salmon? Is it heard of to use indicators for salmon? Without indicators, I get confused in my mending, on when I should be in a zone where I need to have a good-line connection with a potential biting fish. I know this all sound simplistic but if anyone can think back to being at that stage, where do you turn for advice?

·
Registered
1,544 Posts
I'm with ya buddy...took a couple years of time on the water...research on the forums etc. I was primarily a stillwater guy before I moved down here.

Best way to start is a heavy fly on a floating line, but dont get too carried away with leader length. Think about the depth of water youre fishing in too. With floating line, you can have an idea where your tip is/where your fly is during most of the drift. It is essential to have drag-free drift. Mending is just to keep the body of your line in control such that the current doesnt pull the body of the line faster downstream than the water that your fly is in.
Start with short casts as it is easier to control your line. Get that feel of having your fly drift down at the same speed as the surrounding flow.
Cast approx 60 degrees downstream, drift a bit... big mend, watch your line tip...feel it, follow the fly downstream with your rod tip...throw some line into your drift to increase the length if the drift...let it go tight at the end of the drift...wait a few seconds...strip in (slowly) .
I strip in slowly because often you are in a thick pile of fish. That way you can avoid snagging them. You'll feel your line get a bit heavy when it slides beside them...try not to set the hook. A bite WILL BE a bite. As in a vicious TUG TUG. Not a slow pull.