BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

· Registered
897 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been experimenting with sickle hooks for 3 years now and have found them to be the cats a$$. For those of you who don't know what they here is one made by Matzuo

and another made by RVRFSHR

and a sickle jig hook

I started using them for bar fishing the Fraser 3 years ago with large spin-n-glos and have noticed more than double the fish to the beach. Next was using them on my spoons and spinners - same results. This year I have tied quite few jigs for chum in the Fraser, tied in pink/purple then tipped with a bit of prawn, these work very well with double digit landings. Just tying a bunch of jigs for steelhead now. I put the success of these hooks down to the "vee" shape instead of the circular shape of regular hooks. I find these hooks don't roll out a fishes mouth like normal ones when they are flipping and rolling around. The Matzuos are available at Canadian Tire and the Rvrfshr hooks are available at http://store.rvrfshr.com Try some out and you'll be surprised.

· Registered
1,165 Posts
I just started using them for my jigs and they are the best. I have hooked so many chum on them and they still do not need to be sharpened. :thumbup:

· Registered
237 Posts
Canadian Tire sells that brand of hooks ....all my spinners for summer coho had sickle siwashes affixed to them :thumbup: I landed almost every coho I had on this summer.
I was looking at the octopus siwash just the other day but not all the stores carry them in quantity so you have to know the stores with a good fishing department.

· Registered
186 Posts
I was wondering what those were ..I picked one out of the middle of the stave river when the dam was shut off .... never seen a hook like it before. ... was attached to a ....... :hmmm: .... coho set-up .....anyways already gave it back to the river gods.

· Registered
1,702 Posts