BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I tried bottom bouncing for the first time last year on a trip to the upper fraser and now that sockeye are open look forward to getting out in the next couple of days. The guide that took us set us up with spinning reels but that was probably because everyone can use a spinning reel. I received a daiwa luna 300 as a gift from a friend after his fisherman father passed away, and want to try it out, but dont know if it is really the best setup for sockeye fishing on the fraser. What are your thoughts and preferred types of reels for this style of fishing. Also i am still new to fishing and know that many people seem to frown upon bottom bouncing, i have only tried in once in my four years of fishing so if there are some suggestions on some other methods i would be happy to hear those as well.

Mark

·
Registered
251 Posts
I'd take a levelwind over a spinning reel any day, you don't have to deal with the line twist.

My favorite method is on the fly though, can't beat that experience :D

·
Retired Administrator
4,447 Posts
You will find the vast majority of anglers lining sockeye use level wind reels because you can extend your drift by free spooling. This will also put a belly in your line and with flossing the more line on the water the better chance you have of your hook finding the outside of the fish's mouth. Some people feel there is no skill involved in flossing but I beg to differ. It's just like other angling techniques, 20% of the people out there are catching 80% of the fish.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
54 Posts