BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I am fairly new to fishing. I spent last year in the Vedder and Fraser with a spinning real. Now all my buds are saying I'm old school. Can anyone please share with me the pros and cons of using a bait cast compared to a spinning real?

Is it worth spending another $300!!

Thanks

·
Registered
209 Posts
Depends on the kind of fishing you primarily do. If you float fish, a baitcaster is preferable because you have better control of the float when drifting with a baitcaster versus spinning reel. When you free spool with a baitcaster, you can control the amount of line with your thumb and still present a natural looking drift that you control and set your hook at any moment. With a spinning reel you can't do that because of the way the line peels off the spool. So either your drift becomes jerky or you have little control over the line if your hook needs to be set. If you plan to cast spoons, then honestly, either makes little difference. So, need more info.

·
Registered
229 Posts
If you are going to drift fish on the Veddar level wind is the only way to go, they can be a little frustrating at first due to their propensity to birds nest but once you get the hang of it you will find that the control you have over your drift is much better (an absolute necessity when drifting for steelhead). $300 seems a little steep for your first level wind. You can get a perfectly acceptable Abu 6500 for around a $120 though I have to say I to say I love to save up the pennys and spring for some top of the line gear, just makes you tingly all over.

·
Registered
901 Posts
i have fished with both and as mentioned above they are both best for different fishing
if you want to cast light spinners then a spincaster is best
if you want to float the vedder a bait caster is best
just tighten up the cast drag so you can cast without getting any slack line