BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to the world of steelhead fishing and i'm stacking the odds against me even more i'm thinking by trying to catch my first on the fly. I'm an avid fly fisherman and wanting my first steelie to be on the fly though so i'm willing to put in my time. I've been fishing the vedder and have now tried both upper and lower ends of the river and was wondering if its worth my time right now to even bother heading up to the upper in search of the illustrious steelie or should I focus my time more in the lower. The bulk of my time i've spent in and around the vedder campground area and have seen some success there but am ultimately wondering if my setups maybe off, should I be using a full sink to get down low or should I float in some calmer shallower waters. Was out this weekend and saw some nice chrome steelhead brought in, good on ya all who had some luck, its definately making me hungrier.
Cheers

· Registered
691 Posts
Lines like the RIO versa-tip are the most usable and practical around here. As far as location goes, they are through-out the river now, so wherever you enjoy most. Lower river tends to have more fly suitable water.

What sort of rod/line set-up are you using right now?

· Registered
787 Posts
Fishinbc

First off I would like to welcome you to the forum !!! :thumbup:

As for Winter Steelhead the lower is your best bet, but its very busy , this year is my first year targeting them with the spey rod and have landed one nice one so far.

Myself and a few others on here will probably be back out next weekend im sure it wouldnt be a problem to meet up somewhere to share some stories and pound the river on the fly.

As for flies I like allot of marabou and rabbit flies, intruder type flies,steelie nightmares,GP's as for colours any combo of blue/purple/black/pinks/orange etc