BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3,936 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone,

Let me start off by saying I tip very well as I worked as a bartender and server in high-end restaurants for a number of years.

I have never used a guide out in the salt in BC before but a friend is getting married in Campbell River this weekend and we have a good deal for half day of fishing before the wedding. We are each only paying ~$150.00 for I think 5 hours? Do you tip a percentage on what you pay or more of a sheer dollar value??

There is a fair number of guys who will be out fishing in the morning and I know some may be a bit "tight" when it comes to opening up their wallets when the day is done. I realize people are going to tip based on their time with the guide etc, but is there a customary percentage or something along that line?

Thanks and hopefully I will have some good pics to post up next week. At least the weather looks to be good.

Trust me........I will be the one walking around kickin' everyone in the ass to make sure they tip their guides!!

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
First off, Have fun at the wedding!....Regarding the tipping..I have tipped some guides really well 15-20% or more in the past, not because of the amount or how big the fish was etc., but on the overall experience of the day. Some guides will short you on the time if you have caught a few fish, others will work their butts off and be working constantly throughout the day to ensure their guests are rewarded, no matter how many or few you catch.