BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to fishing salmon and I need help with understanding salmon runs. If you have basic information to share or a good website, I would be very grateful. I've read a few posts on when the pinks are good fishing. What is good fishing for right now? Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
816 Posts
Youngfisher, I suggest you go to a libary... it's a thing with books in it used proir to the web ;D. However, here is a general run down of the life-cycle of pacific salmon:
Chinook: they live 4 to six years depending on the run. Egg are laid late Summer to winter, generally, They hatch in the late winter and strart feeding and going down river. The smolt start aggresively feeding and by the end of that summer early fall the water off rivers like the fraser are full of 8" to twelve inch shackers in top 30' feet of water. Most then head to the open ocean feeding on the off shore banks and traveling thousand of mile. In the spring of the fourth year for most runs they start returning to the river with runs that go furthest up stream hitting the river first (There are execption, some chinook come up river in the winter, but this is rare, system specific.) The run is at its highest around the begining of August - an exeption are the white spings, they highest in sept, heading mostly for he haturies at the Vedder and Cap. Another exeption is the Jack spring, a mature male that comes up river after 2 or three years, most likely to expaned or mix the gene pool.