BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

First post here so here goes. I'm taking a week-long yacht trip from Sidney around the archipelago in the first week of September. I am very interested in fishing while on the trip. The yacht comes with a 10ft dinghy with 4HP motor.

My plan will be to fish wherever we moor up in the mornings and evenings, potentially using the dinghy to get around but not likely doing any trolling.

I would honestly be happy with catching anything. I've done a fair amount of saltwater fishing in the UK, mostly for mackerel, dogfish, sea bass, flatfish, both from a boat and shore, so I've got some experience jigging, spinning, trolling. However, all my gear is in the UK and isn't worth shipping here.

I've done some research and see that there are plenty of fish to catch out there at the time I'll be visiting including Coho salmon, lingcod, sole, rockfish, bass. The question I'd like to ask is, which tackle/methods am I most likely to have some fun with? As I said I'm not too bothered about what I catch (although a Coho would be awesome!).

Any advice on techniques, locations and tackle would be greatly appreciated. Even more, if there are any suggestions of anyone (shops, charters, individuals) that might rent me some tackle in/around the Victoria area would be really awesome!

Thanks!

Jon

·
Registered
3,669 Posts
Make sure you aren't fishing in an area closed to rockfish. I would say jigging or fly are your best bets given what you are doing.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3