BC Fishing Reports banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Q: What sort of casting distance is "respectable" for me to be reaching when I am trying for distance?

I've been fly-fishing for like 14 years along with a group of buddies (many of whom have been at it for much longer) and we recently asked a pro to give us some tips on improving our technique. He met us one evening in a field in Vancouver and proceeded to cast a single handed 8wt. rod loaded with a matching 8 wt. line until he literally had the entire fly line in the air. And he did so effortlessly. And by the way, it wasn't his rod... he hadn't even brought a rod with him that evening... he did that with one of my friends' rods.

I didn't get out a measuring tape and measure the distance he was achieving but I think it was easily 120' or more.

Although I have a number of single handed fly rods I find that more and more I am heading out into the rivers and into the ocean with my switch rods. On more than one occasion I have measured-out the distance I can cast with my 7/8 switch rod and it's only about 70' - 75' and that's pretty much all I can attain. That rod is 11' in length.

Suddenly I feel like my casting ability sucks.

Q: What would be respectable with that kind of set-up?

Distance matters to me as I pursue Coho in the ocean on the East Coast of Vancouver Island every fall (like right now) and it's almost always the case that the Coho are hanging out there "at distance."

·
Registered
308 Posts
Better than the ?~50 feet? of fly line that I manage to get out there with my 9 foot rods :p

I'm interested in what the pro told you, or perhaps you hadn't asked him what a good distance would be with your set-up at the time. I imagine that with a longer rod (i.e. spey), you should theoretically be able to get more line out, secondary to the longer lever arm of the rod.