BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What is the most common/appropiate CP rod for the majority of rivers and tributaries in the lower mainland? I really like to fish 13' and over when I was fishing the Trent and Severn in the UK but for some reason i only see local CP fisher's with and 10.5 to 11.5 rods. I know some of the streams are relatively small but the longer rod certainly gets more line off the water (especially when your a short arse like me) but most of the G.loomis rods I'm looking at may be a bit light i.e. 4-8lbs or 6-12lbs which could be a little weak if a spring is hooked. I'm still new at this aspect of fishing so any advice would be appreciated from the experts out there... :cheers:

·
Registered
1,374 Posts
10 and a half feet is certainly a good length. But i've been told that 10.5' to 14' is a reasonable length. It's all about preference. Look around, consider a custom rod if you don't see what your looking for.

·
Premium Member
4,449 Posts
Depends on the size of the stream and your presentation and how comfortable you are casting a pin in the wind with a bank of trees behind you. I would say an 11 or 12 footer would be suitable for most situations. I want to try a pin on an 8 weight 9 foot bamboo fly rod for steelies in the Stamp this year.

·
Registered
209 Posts
I've got a 13' St Croix 7/8 spey rod built into a pin rod and a 13'6" 8/9 weight Beulah blank built into a pin rod. Love 'em both. Also have a 10'6" TFO 3106 rod. The only drawback to fishing a long rod is landing a fish in a small space. You will need a second person to help you. Otherwise, it's a blast! :beerchug:

·
Registered
419 Posts
The G-Loomis 6-12 10.6 ' is perfect. I just bought one and no problem with the odd huge chum taking my roe while coho fishing. Just takes a little longer to play them out. And a gentler touch I'm sure a springer would be a blast on it. :thumbup:

·
Banned
2,859 Posts