BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to fishing the vedder, and was wondering where Is the best places to use wool or roe. I went to the upper river and everyone said that you just use wool, the fish don't bite up there. They also told me I had to go below the first bridge if I wanted to use roe, because thats where the fish actually went for it. Where abouts along the river is the best bets for each? and how far off the bottum do I fish both ?

·
Registered
1,468 Posts
In the river is a good bet :p The people up top saying that the fish wont bite roe are flossing the fish and arent smart enough to know it. Fish will bite roe or wool if its presented right in any water conditions, gin clear or next to zero vis. I usually fish around 2 feet off bottom, remember fish look up and foward.

·
Registered
354 Posts
All those people (flossers)on the upper river that said the fish don't bite up there(why even use wool then?) don't know squat.Use wool in the faster/riffly water and use roe in the slower pools/tail outs.Or use a colarado blade in all of it.In all cases stay one to two feet off the bottom.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Spoonman said:
All those people (flossers)on the upper river that said the fish don't bite up there(why even use wool then?) don't know squat.Use wool in the faster/riffly water and use roe in the slower pools/tail outs.Or use a colarado blade in all of it.In all cases stay one to two feet off the bottom.
Don't be afraid to change it up, as above. I have found that changing up presentations in the same stretch of water can entice a bite, but in my experience Vedder fish (esp. Coho) are very, very greedy for 'da ROE.

Also, work the water! Make sure whatever you are throwing in there covers the whole run...

·
Registered
141 Posts