BC Fishing Reports banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to salt trolling and was wondering if it is bettter to troll with or against the current.he only action I'v had was against,yet the lure companies say to troll with?Any suggestions out there?

·
Registered
249 Posts
i"m no expert but I have started tracking my catches over the last 4 months and I've caught fish both with and against the flow. Most people will say with the flow but I'm not convinced as I've caught quite a few particularly in the last couple months against...I think it's more important to just make sure that your "angles" are ok....Meaning if your downrigger line is going straight down you won't be getting any action on the gear. I find if you are hunting for the fish you need to go with the flow in order to cover ground to find the fish. If you are against it it takes so long to make any ground. If I'm in really heavy current such as at times near Ambleside I will go with the flow to my outer limit then haul everything in and race back to the start and go again...Like I say I'm no expert just based on my limited experience and success...

·
Registered
116 Posts
I think I have more luck going into a medium current especially with spoons. I didn't used to like the rigger line going way back, but the last few years I like it better with spoons because I think I get more bites to hook-up with the higher water speed. Less nibble and spits. Herring or Anchoves I prefer a little slower water speed. Sometimes it's hard to go into the current and keep it on the basement, so if the basement is important, into the current is tough.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I try to keep a mental log in my head when I'm out and also watch other boats that hook up with fish. I find it about 75-80% with the current the rest against. How many are succesfull at slack? thats supposed to be the best time in my understanding. :2cents:

·
Registered
57 Posts